NDACo News

NDACo News

Counties Association Chooses New Leadership

Posted 11/01/22 (Tue)

(See full story with photos, plus conference photo album in the Nov/Dec edition of County News HERE)

The ND Association of Counties (NDACo) and ND County Commissioners Association (NDCCA) boards of directors met during the 2022 Annual Conference to select new members and leadership. The NDACo board elects a new slate of officers every year, while NDCCA board officers serve two-year terms



The newly elected officers of the NDACo Board of Directors are:

President - Steve Lee, McLean County Commissioner

1st Vice President - Jayme Tenneson, Nelson/Griggs County State's Attorney

2nd Vice President - Trudy Ruland, Mountrail County Commissioner

3rd Vice President - Chad Kaiser, Stutsman County Sheriff

Past President - Carrie Krause, Wells County Recorder


Each member of the NDACo Board of Directors represents either a Member Association or Commissioner Region. Two new directors joined the board:

Kelly Vincent, Griggs County Recorder/Clerk, was chosen by the ND County Recorders Association to represent Recorders on the Board.

Kari Hatzenbuhler, Morton County Treasurer, was chosen by the ND County Treasurers Association to represent Treasurers on the Board.

As Commissioner Lee surveys the coming year, the tremendous amount of change counties face is foremost on his mind. Lee says, “My goal for the coming year as President is to welcome the many new county officials to their new jobs, as we know the election will bring us the largest number of new faces we’ve seen in many years. Likewise, there will be many newly elected legislators, and we’ll want to be sure they know that counties are here to partner with them in moving the state forward.”



The NDCCA elected Stark County Commissioner Neal Messer to join the Board, re-elected Pembina County Commissioner Nick Rutherford to continue serving, and re-elected McIntosh County Commissioner Perry Turner to continue representing North Dakota on the National Association of Counties.

President Chad Peterson is optimistic about the future, saying, “I think the high level of turnover will bring new ideas and new ways of thinking and acting in county government. It’s important that those of us who have been around awhile show the strength we have in our associations and get people involved as soon as possible.”

The NDCCA Board of Directors officers are:

Chad Peterson, Cass County Commissioner, President

Karen Anderson, Walsh County Commissioner, Vice President

Joan Hollekim, Mountrail County Commissioner, Treasurer

Perry Turner, McIntosh County Commissioner, Past President


The remaining members of the Board:

Glenda Collier, Eddy County Commissioner
Cory Hanson, Williams County Commissioner
Jim Kapitan, Cass County Commissioner
Neal Messer, Stark County Commissioner; newly elected
Nick Rutherford, Pembina County Commissioner; re-elected

The Ex-Officio Members are Perry Turner, McIntosh County, National Association of Counties Board of Directors representative, and Scott Ouradnik, Slope County Commissioner, Western Interstate Region Board of Directors representative.