Excellence in County Government

Excellence in County Government

 The Excellence in County Government Awards program honors county personnel who have shown excellence in their service to county government. Give someone in your county the recognition they deserve!


If you have any questions about the form or anything related to the EICG Awards, please contact Jeff Eslinger at jeff.eslinger@ndaco.org or 701-328-7300.

2019 Excellence in County Government Award Winners


COUNTY COMMISSIONER: Bill Anderson, Sargent County

Nominated by ND County Commissioners Association Board of Directors

Bill Anderson has been a Sargent County Commissioner since 2004. During that time he has been very active, not only in leadership of his county, but also working to affect the common good for counties across the state as a member of the NDCCA Legislative Committee and Resolutions Committee. He has represented his county as a county delegate during the many NDACo Annual Conferences that he has attended and is known to speak up when needed, always maintaining professionalism and courtesy along with his firm resolve.

Bill is a firm supporter of and participant in the professional development programs of NDACo, regularly attending events like the County Officials Academy and achieving level II in the ILG program, meaning he has taken in excess of 100 hours of training, both in person and online. He puts everything he has into everything he does, ignoring any obstacles like the true Marine Corps veteran he is.

Among the many issues Bill has supported, he has worked hard to preserve funding for the critical role of NDSU Extension, and when that budget was cut in 2017 he worked through the interim and helped get funding restored by the 2019 Session.

Bill Anderson is a friend and mentor who willingly shares his wisdom and experience to make life easier for those who seek him out.


COUNTY OFFICIAL: Jerry Bergquist, Stutsman County Emergency Manager/9-1-1 Coordinator

Nominated by Stutsman County Commission

Jerry Bergquist has been the Stutsman County Emergency Manager and 9-1-1 Coordinator since 1989. He has coordinated emergency management efforts for 17 Presidential Disaster Declarations dealing primarily with flooding. Through his efforts, Stutsman County has remained eligible, and has received, grant funds to through the Federal Emergency Management Agency [FEMA) and the Department of Homeland Security [OHS).

Jerry is among the “founding fathers” of both the ND Emergency Management Association and the ND 9-1-1 Association, serving as the first president of the latter, and remains an active member of both organizations. Jerry aided Stutsman County in establishing one of the first county-wide 911 systems in the State of North Dakota.

Mr. Bergquist has testified multiple times on behalf of the ND 911 Association to the ND Legislature and continues to aid in the mission to bring Next Gen 911 technology to our state. He has mentored many new Emergency Managers and 911 Coordinators in the state, and is known as the go-to guy that anyone can count on for help and advice, both in-state and beyond our borders. It is no exaggeration to say that his hard work and dedication to public service has literally saved not just property, but lives.


COUNTY EMPLOYEE: Clyde Thompson, Burleigh County Finance Director

Nominated by Burleigh County Commission

Clyde Thompson has been a dedicated employee of Burleigh County for 35 years. As Chief Financial Director, Clyde oversees all budgetary and financial operations for a budget over $100 million, and is responsible for property management of all buildings including the courthouse, county office buildings and the new Burleigh/Morton Detention Center.

Mr. Thompson frequently answers the call to appear before the State Legislature to provide financial data in support of issues important to counties. He was an early participant in Leadership Bismarck-Mandan.


HALL OF HONOR: Charlotte Sandvik, Former Cass County Treasurer

Nominated by ND County Treasurers Association

Charlotte Sandvik took office as Cass County Treasurer in 1991. For her entire career, Charlotte has actively participated in statewide and national professional organizations, including the ND Treasurer's Association, ND Association of Counties and the National Association of Counties. She held leadership positions in all of those organizations.

Treasurer Sandvik has served as a mentor to county treasurers across the state and innumerable Cass County employees and community members.

Among Charlotte’s proudest accomplishments is the creation of the Cass County Youth Commission (CCYC). The CCYC is made up of students from every high school in Cass County. They meet throughout the school year to learn about county government, culminating in a major community service project.

Ms. Sandvik represented Cass County and North Dakota with dignified professionalism that enhances the image of our great state on a national level. She will be sorely missed by the county treasurers and all who worked with her and caught her contagious enthusiasm for public service.


DEDICATED PARTNER: Gerald VandeWalle, ND Supreme Court Chief Justice

A true native son, born and raised in Noonan, ND, Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle is the longest serving chief justice in the United States. His list of accomplishments and leadership positions in the courts is too long to even begin here, but among them is his selection in 2015 for the state’s highest honor, the Theodore Roosevelt Roughrider Award.

Justice VandeWalle was chosen for this honor in recognition of how he has shepherded so many state-county projects. He was deeply involved in the transition from a county court based system to the district court system, assuring that county courthouses maintain an active and relevant role. Similarly, his leadership in the juvenile justice system has always put the welfare of young people first, emphasizing the need for programs to be locally-focused. Finally, Justice VandeWalle was instrumental in the development of the very popular Court Facilities Improvement grant program.