Excellence in County Government

 The Excellence in County Government Awards program honors county personnel who have shown excellence in their service to county government. Give someone in your county the recognition they deserve!

Click here to download the form for the 2015 Excellence in County Government Awards.

  • (This PDF can be filled out on a computer, but you will likely have to save it to your computer FIRST and, depending on your software, may not be able to save it...you CAN, however, use your "print to PDF" option to save it on your computer. Call Jeff Eslinger for assistance.)


2014 Excellence in County Government Award Winners

See photos at http://www.ndaco.org/photo-galleries/2014-ndaco-annual-conference/

County Commissioner

Doug Graupe, Divide County Commissioner
Nominated by ND County Commissioners Association

Among the state’s longest serving commissioners, Doug Graupe has demonstrated true leadership during a time of great strain on county government. He has dedicated time to extensive lobbying efforts at the ND Legislature and spent countless hours working to make county government’s voice heard throughout the state and nation. He was the first two-year term President of the ND County Commissioners Association, and currently represents North Dakota on the National Association of Counties Board of Directors.

County Official

Hazel Herman, Burke County Treasurer
Nominated by ND County Treasurer’s Association

Hazel has been the county treasurer of Burke County since 1979, but has served Burke County since 1975.  Hazel will be retiring as county treasurer in May of 2015. She served the County Treasurer’s Association as president in 1985 and 1986, and as a director, committee member and NDACo delegate many times over the years. Hazel has mentored many other Treasurers over the years and is an effective advocate on legislative matters. She helped establish the retirement program for the Burke County employees. She is well known for working tirelessly for the benefit of her fellow county employees and her community and church.



Jamie Smith, Barnes County Highway Department Administrative Assistant
Nominated by Barnes County Board of Commissioners and Highway Department

Jamie Smith defines what it means to go above and beyond what is expected of her. She has taken it upon herself to be the Highway Department’s “CMB” (Chief Morale Booster), coming up with team building ideas and ways to make work fun, as well as an effective “CSO “ (Chief Safety Officer), a job she takes very seriously. She has also taken on responsibilities with the Planning and Zoning and the Water Resource Board.  Jamie is also very involved in her community of Litchville, where she was the first woman on their city council. She is active with the Litchville Historical Society, Music Boosters and is a driving force for developing a successful community center.


County Officials Hall of Honor

Tim Schulte, Former Richland County Engineer

Tim Schulte served as Richland County Engineer for 14 years. During his entire tenure, he was  very active in the ND Association of County Engineers, including terms in all chair positions. He worked hard to bring the National Association of County Engineers conference to Bismarck in 2005. Many have said it was the best NACE conference they've attended. In 2009, Tim was awarded the NDACE’s highest award, receiving the County Engineer of the Year Award. In recent years Tim had served on the NDACo Board of Directors and the ND State College of Science Land Surveying and Civil Engineering Technology Advisory Board. In addition to his energy, drive and focus, Tim is being honored for his small-town approach, always emphasizing the importance of personal relationships, making the most of what you have, and good old-fashioned common sense.

Dedicated Partner

 John Walstad, Legal Division Director, ND Legislative Council

While it might be tempting to see the work of Legislative Council staff as strictly behind-the-scenes, if not invisible, John Walstad’s incredible work ethic and hands-on involvement with that important work deserve recognition. Always ethical and committed to the principles of good government, John tactfully navigates the fine lines inherent in working with both parties on sensitive issues. Whether he is asking or answering questions about the potential impacts of legislation, he is always congenial and helpful to legislators, local officials and citizens. NDACo has a particular appreciation for his deep knowledge of property tax issues, but there is really no area of state government that he could not be considered a real expert.  Counties have a truly dedicated partner in John Walstad.

North Dakota Association of Counties | P.O. Box 877 | 1661 Capitol Way | Bismarck, ND 58502-0877 | (701) 328-7300

© Copyright North Dakota Association of Counties. All rights reserved.

designed by Sund Design powered by taoCMS™ Web Content Manager

Get Adobe Reader