Meeting Minutes NDACo Delegate Council Assembly October 10, 2023 Bismarck Event Center – Main Level Hall A

President Steve Lee (McLean County Commissioner) called the 2023 meeting of the NDACo Delegate Council to order at 8:03 AM and appointed Aaron Birst, NDACo Executive Director, as Parliamentarian for the meeting.

The President noted the minutes of the previous meeting have been reviewed and approved by the Convention Minutes Committee. He then introduced the officers of the Association and then asked the entire Board of Directors to stand and be recognized.

The President then called on NDACo Executive Director Aaron Birst to deliver his report on the Association. Aaron provided a brief summary about the conference, staff, and activities NDACo is focusing on in the coming year.

After thanking Aaron, the President called for the Standing Committee reports, beginning with the Governance Committee Report.

There were no recommended changes to the current Constitution and Bylaws.

Chair Ruland then continued with the Governance Committee report by addressing their duties as the Nominating Committee. She presented the following slate of candidates for the delegate consideration:

- For President: Jayme Tenneson, Nelson & Griggs County State's Attorney
- For 1st Vice President: Trudy Ruland, Mountrail County Commissioner
- For 2nd Vice President: Chad Kaiser, Stutsman County Sheriff
- ➤ For 3rd Vice President: Nick Moser, Cavalier County Commissioner

Ruland then moved the acceptance of these nominees. After a second was received, the President asked three times for further nominations for any of the positions on the ballot.

There being no additional nominations, Chad Peterson (Cass) moved that the nominations cease, and the secretary record a unanimous ballot for the entire slate of nominees. The motion was seconded and passed on a voice vote.

The President thanked the Governance Committee for their work and congratulated those elected.

Lee asked Past President Carrie Krause, Chair of the Resolutions Committee, to deliver the Resolutions Report on behalf of the Committee. After reading the titles of the resolutions proposed by the Resolutions Committee, she asked if any should be withdrawn for separate discussion and action. The President then asked for adoption of the remaining resolutions in one motion.

The resolutions proposed for adoption were:

2023-01 Opposition to Elimination of Property Tax
2023-02 State Managed Services
2023-03 Public Employees Retirement System
2023-04 County Candidate Education
2023-05 Liability Exposure on Joint Cost Participation Contracts
2023-06 Support for CHINS (Children in Need of Services)
2023-07 Increase in Gas Tax and Tax of Electric Vehicles
2023-08 Bridge Inspections

Steve Lee (McLean) then moved that all resolutions be adopted. The motion was seconded by Trudy Ruland (Mountrail) and the motion passed on a voice vote.

President Lee then introduced the new officers and then recognized five new board members Jamee Folk (Mercer), Tony Grindberg (Cass), Shirley Murray (Sheridan), Erica Johnsrud (McKenzie) and Robert Wilson (Cass). Grindberg is replacing Mary Scherling (Cass), Folk is filling the Region 7 position on the Board now that Lee is moving to past president, Murray replaces Val McCloud (Rolette) who resigned as county auditor, Johnsrud replaces Kari Hatzenbuhler (Morton) who requested to step down from the board due to other commitments, and Wilson replaces Marcia Lamb (Billings) who stepped down as representative on the NACo Board of Directors. Plaques were awarded to outgoing board members.

The President then presented NDACo Past President Carrie Krause with a plaque as outgoing past president and she shared her final thoughts as past president.

Newly elected President Jayme Tenneson was then called to the podium to receive the gavel and begin his Presidency. The gavel was passed to the new President, and he presented outgoing President Steve Lee with a plaque in recognition of his past year as President. Lee spoke briefly about his year as President.

President Tenneson provided comments regarding his start as President and then asked if there was any further business to discuss; there being none, the President adjourned the 2023 Delegate Council meeting.

Approved by: ₋	 	
Date:		